top of page

Tigers History


Thanks to Brett Kleidon for this contribution;


A Brief History


Pre 1970: Australian Football was occasionally played, matches were mostly between service teams or promotional matches between Brisbane teams.


1970: The Coolaroo Football Club was formed by Bill Shaw and a band of Footy fanatics.


1971: Three teams competed in the first season of Australian Football on the Downs. The teams were Coolaroo, Signals and Aviation, Signals won the first premiership.


1972: Four teams competed, Coolaroo, Aviation, Combined Services and South Toowoomba, Souths won the Premiership.


1973: Four teams competed. Aviation won the Premiership. Toowoomba Australian Football Club 'Pinkies' formed.


1974: Five teams competed, Coolaroo, Aviation, Souths, Pinkies and Queensland Agical College. Premiers were Aviation. John Grinham 'Pinkies' won the Leagues Best & Fairest award. Pinkies finished 4th.


1975: Four teams competed, Q.A.C. dropped to the new reserve grade competition. Coolaroo premiers. Pinkies finished 3rd.


1976: Five teams, competed, Institute joined. Souths premiers after defeating Pinkies in the Grand Final.


1977: Six teams competed, Q.A.C. back in 'A' grade but disbanded during season. Toowoomba 'Pinkies' won their first premiership defeating Coolaroo. First year of reserve grade for Toowoomba.


1978: Four teams competed. Institute won their first premiership 18-9:117 against Pinkies 14-14:98. Trevor Curtis 'Pinkies' won the leagues Best & Fairest award. David King won the reserve grade goal kicking award with 23. Aviation was disbanded prior to the start of season, most players went to Institute some to Pinkies.


1979: Four teams competed. Toowoomba 'Pinkies' won their second premiership when they defeated Institute, Institute only won two matches all season the first semi and the preliminary finals. John Purcell won the L.G.K award with 103 goals. Trevor Curtis won the reserve grade Best & Fairest, David King again won the reserves L.G.K with 22. The Toowoomba reserve grade were runners up to Souths in the premiership.


1980: Four new teams entered the DDAFL, Goondiwindi, Dalby, Warwick and Lockyer Valley. Toowoomba 'Pinkies' lost the grand-final to new boys Goondiwindi. Pinkies finished 4th.


1981: Seven teams competed in 'A' Grade with Warwick dropping back and the addition of South Burnett to reserve grade. Souths were premiers. In reserve grade the Pinkies were defeated by South Burnett for the premiership. Rod Kamboris was elected the Leagues' first General Manager and director of Junior Coaching. Toowoomba 'Pinkies' changed to Toowoomba 'Tigers'. Tigers finished 5th.


1982: Either teams competed with South Burnett going into 'A' Grade. Tigers only managed to win three games to earn their first wooden spoon. Trevor Curtis was runner up in the Leagues' Best & Fairest award. Steve Bensen won the reserve grade L.G.K with 24 goals.


1983: Eight teams competed. Tigers finised in 2nd but were bundled out of contention by Souths in the preliminary final. Mark Frawley kicked 76 goals to win the L.G.K award. Goondiwindi premiers.


1984: Eight teams competed, Moonie joined reserves. Souths were premiers. Tigers finished 6th.


1985: Eight teams competed with Moonie entering 'A' Grade and South Burnett dropping back to reserves. Lockyer Valley won their first premiership Tigers reserves were runners up losing the final to South Burnett 5-8:38 to 12-13:85.


1986: Eight teams competed. Institute premiers. In reserve grade the Tigers finised undefeated and defeated Souths to win their first premiersip 16-17:113 to 4-10:34. Chris Guice won both the reserve grade trophy's for Best & Fairest and Leading Goal Kickers. (Chris is now with the Kingaroy Bulldogs). 'A' grade finised 7th with only three wins.


1987: Seven teams competed with Moonie merging with Goondiwindi. The Tigers finished in 3rd place Andrew McLean winning the Best Under 18 in A grade. The reserves lost the final to South Toowoomba. Jon Sharpe came 3rd in the under 17's Best and Fairest.


1988: Toowoomba won their premiership when they defeated Dalby. (Their first as Tigers) Eight teams competed with Kingaroy joining. Don Turvey kicked a record 131 goals and Doug Lowe was runner up in the leagues Best & Fairest award. Jon Sharpe came 4th in the under 18 award. In reserve grade the Tigers also made the finals, Steve Bensen was 4th in goal kicking with 22.


1989: Eight teams competed, it was quiet year for the Tigers finishing in 4th place.


1990: Eight teams competed with the Tigers finishing 4th, Matt Elkington was second in the L.G.K with 62. (Don Turvey now with Uni won with 82) Andrew McLean was 4th in the Homan Medal while Kiven Roberts was second in the Marge Shaw Trophy.


1991: Eight teams competed. Goondiwindi premiers. Toowoomba had its worse season ever winning only two matches adn earning the wooden spoon for the second time in club history. Even the reserves won three matches and finished in 7th place.


1992: Eight teams competed. University premiers. The Tigers improved under the guidance of coach Wayne Jacobsen to win four matches and finish in 6th place. Unfortunately the reserves were unable to win a game. Clynton Spencer won the Karl Price Trophy for the best under 18 in 'A' Grade. (DDAFL) Under 14's were defeated in the final against Uni Eagles in the last minute after leading all match.


1993: Eight teams competing. Under the leadership of coach Bob Hedges the Tigers are rebuilding, continuing the good work of Jake last year, the results are evident. The Tigers have equalled the wins of last year and still have 11 matches to go, and possibly earn a finals berth come August. The reserves under Pat Murphy are also vastly improved on last year and are possible finals candiates this season.


Beyond: It is up to the club, it has the talent and the administation abilities to be the top team in the league. Its a matter of application and dedication, then the Tigers will win more premierships.

bottom of page